Donate to support this award.

Stutz Artists Association Residency

The 2018 application deadline has passed.

Check back in March of 2019 for information on how to apply for the 2019 grant.

For over 20 years, the Stutz Artists Association (SAA) has presented an annual award of free studio space (valued at approximately $6,000) to one or two central Indiana emerging artists.

This award is one of the largest grants offered to individual visual artists in central Indiana from a local arts organization.

Funding for the program is provided by the proceeds from the annual Raymond James Stutz Artists Open House in April. More information about the event may be accessed by clicking here.

For the Stutz Artist Residency, two recipients will be awarded the following:

Additionally, residents will have access to and support from the community of Stutz artists.

Residency History

Since its inaugural year in 1996, the residency program has provided in-kid contributions of more than $135,000 to 31 local artists. Artists who spent a formative year as a Stutz Resident are among the most well known, accomplished and respected professionals in Indianapolis’ arts community. Previous residency grant recipients are:

2017: Shelby Alexander and Rebecca Zink
2016: Sean Hurley and John Klinkose
2015: Kristy Hughes and Jessica Springman
2014: Cheryl Lorance and Marna Shopoff

2013: David Hicks and Lucas Schooler
2012: Lauren Kussro and Heather Stamenov
2011: Joseph Crone and Emily Budd
2010: Mallory Marty and Brian Myers
2009: Patrick Flaherty and Lydia Burris
2008: William Denton Ray and Mark Pack
2007: Ginny Taylor Rosner and Jay Parnell
2006: Kate Oberreich and David Kleeman
2005: Kevin Smola
2004: Ismalia “Izo” Ndaiye
2003: Stephanie Lewis Robertson
2002: Larry Endicott
2001: Kyle Ragsdale
2000: Jan Zoya
1999: Susan Watt Grade
1998: Emily Kennerk
1997: Greg Hull

More information on the residency program can be obtained by contacting the Stutz Artists Association.